Oregon’s minimum wage increases on July 1st, 2017!

Good news! On July 1st, 2017, Oregon’s minimum wage will increase all across the state.

The rate will increase to different rates depending on where in the state you work. In the Metro region it will increase to $11.25/hour, in the Standard region to $10.25/hour, and in the Nonurban region to $10/hour.

That means anyone working full-time outside the Portland Metro region will earn $1,040 more over the next year. And those working full-time in the Portland Metro region will earn $3,120 more this year!

You can check the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries’ website to find out what the rate is for where you work and see how the rate will continue to increase over the next few years.

Governor Kate Brown signed the state’s new minimum wage into law back in March of 2016. The new minimum wage will be phased-in over the next six years — so every year those earning the minimum wage will see a significant increase until July 2022 when metro-area minimum wage earners will be paid $14.75/hour, those in the “standard” region will earn $13.50/hour, and those in the “nonurban” areas will earn 12.50/hour. After 2022, the minimum wage in each region will be adjusted annually for increases in inflation.

And make no mistake: we didn’t get here by accident. We got here because people like you and organizations like ours raised the issue and put pressure on our state leaders to make change so that Oregonians aren’t living in poverty while working full-time. Together we really are changing the way our economy works so fewer people are struggling to make ends meet while supporting their families.

We are proud of what this wage increase will mean for so many families. And we deeply appreciate the hard work of so many that went into getting to this moment, especially the brave advocates who sometimes risk so much to speak up for what’s right based on their personal experiences. We wouldn’t be here without you.

Oh, and if you should receive an increase, but don’t starting July 1st, you can file a wage claim with the Bureau of Labor and Industries to recover the wages you are owed. 

Category: Uncategorized
Tags: